The word chakra is familiar to many. However, most people don't understand what the chakras are. The word chakra derives from Sanskrit and means “wheel of light”. There are seven chakras which are thought to be the life-force energy centers of the body and receive, transfer and absorb energy (qi).

There are written records of chakras found in early Hindu scriptures (Vedic Upanishads) dating back to 6th Century B.C. The concept of chakras also plays a key role in two ancient Indian healing ideologies, Ayurvedic medicine and yoga. Both systems remain popular in contemporary healing methods.

There are thousands of minor chakras, however, the seven principle chakras practitioners focus on are: 

  • Crown
  • Third eye
  • Throat
  • Heart
  • Solar plexus
  • Sacral (Spleen)
  • Root

These seven primary chakras are aligned vertically from the top of the head to the base of the spine. The chakras encompass all spiritual energy on the physical plane and each is associated with a specific color, function, organ, consciousness, ailment, element and more (see chart). Chakras are also connected to each other along the body's meridians (energy pathways). Chakras function as aura (colored energy field thought to enclose a human body) gates and are able to receive and send energy from individuals, nature, the universe and other celestial beings. 

Chakra Associations Chart

When viewed as a whole, the chakras emulate unified consciousness, or soul. When chakras are viewed individually they can reflect various aspects of consciousness, which may include body, instinct, energy, emotions, communication and connection.

It is often thought that when the chakras are imbalanced a person may experience poor health. When an energy blockage occurs, qi is unable to flow freely and may cause the spiritual physical, mental and emotional health to become affected. Chakra imbalances are generally caused by stress, diet, lack of exercise, injury or a disconnect from a higher spiritual being. These imbalances can cause issues in all aspects of one's life. It is important for one's chakras to be aligned, so energy can flow freely along the body's meridians.

There are various techniques for balancing one's chakras. A few methods include:

Even if you feel you have a healthy energy flow, it is important to balance your chakras on a regular basis for an optimal energy flow. For more information, or to set up an appointment, contact us today!